Dundalk St. Gerard's Athletic Club History


In September 1982 two men from Oaklawns - Jim Gannon and Jim Kelly - founded St. Gerard's Athletic Club. Initially the members of St. Gerard's A.C came from the Greenacres and the Redemptorist areas of Dundalk. However as the club developed during the 1980's it's catchment area also increased to encompass numerous regions throughout Dundalk.

The first Annual General Meeting of the club was held in St. Gerard's Hall on September 21st 1983 with Jim Kelly elected as Chairperson and Albert Alexander elected as Secretary. As the club developed there have been many dedicated coaches who have contributed their time and skills in order to train the athletes and to ensure they won numerous Louth, Leinster and All Ireland titles. The club is indebted to Gerry McEnteggart and other coaches such as Noel Matthews, Christy McShane, Mary Roachford, Tony Roachford, John Rafferty, David McGuinness, Sean Leyden, Brendan Martin, Peter Fitzpatrick, Eucharia Kirk and Eugene Birch who at one time or another devoted their time voluntarily to training the athletes.

The first ever athletes to receive All Ireland medals for St. Gerard's were Alison Hughes and Don Alexander during July 1984 in Cork. Don broke the record for the under-9 60m sprint and his record was still in place when the N.A.C.A disbanded. Other record holders for the club down through the years were Kevin Hamill, Sean Leyden, Barry Rafferty, Stepthen Casey, Alan McEnteggart, Graham Carr, Derek Maguire, Alison Hughes, Aine Gorham, Nichola McShne, Orlaith Kirk and Vanessa Bromley. many of the athletes were chosen to represent Ireland in the C.S.I.T International Championships.

In 2013 St. Gerard's Athletic Club was renamed to Dundalk St. Gerard's Athletic Club to highlight the location of the club.

Club Facts

Club founded: September 1982
Founders: Jim Kelly and Jim Gannon
Base: General Dundalk area.
Club Colours: Red and White.
Honorary Presidents: Jim and Anne Kelly.